Kirklees District Election Results May 2018

Our election count was held on Friday 4 May 2018

At the count we learnt that 35% of the electorate voted on the 3 May.

Following lots of counting the end result saw Labour gain 3 seats:  Ashbrow, Colne Valley and Golcar,  to give them an overall majority in the council with of 36 of the 69 seats available.

We also welcome 6 new councillors to the council:

  • Alison Louise Munro – Almondbury – Liberal Democrats
  • Harpeet Uppal – Ashbrow – Labour
  • Mark Stephen Thompson – Birstall and Birkenshaw (for a 2 year term) – Conservative
  • Nell Griffiths – Colne Valley – Labour
  • Billy Jewitt – Denby Dale – Conservative
  • Richard Murgatroyd – Golcar – Labour

All the other seats were held by existing councillors.


Find out more

Kirklees District Council election results 2018

Current composition of the council

Election Tales video blog








Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.