Kirklees District Election Results May 2019

Our election count was held on Friday 3 May 2019

Following lots of counting the end result saw Labour retain an overall majority in the council with of 36 of the 69 seats available.

We also welcome 11 new ward councillors to the council:

  • Almondbury – Paola Antonia Convertino Davies (Liberal Democrat)
  • Batley West – Yusra Hussain (Labour)
  • Birstall and Birkenshaw – Charlotte Eleanor Goodwin (Conservative)
  • Colne Valley – Lesley Anne Warner (Labour)
  • Dewsbury East – Aleks Lukic (Dewsbury Borough Independents – Heavy Woollen District)
  • Golcar – Andrew Marchington (Liberal Democrat)
  • Heckmondwike – Aafaq Noor Butt (Labour)
  • Holme Valley North – Paul Grenville White (Independent)
  • Holme Valley South – Paul Davies (Labour)
  • Lindley – Anthony John Smith (Liberal Democrat)
  • Newsome – Sue Lee-Richards (Green Party)

All the other seats were held by existing councillors.

Turnout was 33%.

Find out more

Kirklees District Council election results 2019

Election Tales video blog


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.