Councillor changes

Kirklees Council logo

Three Kirklees councillors have today resigned from the Labour group. All three remain Kirklees councillors and have indicated their intention to sit as independent members. They are Cllr Rob Walker, Cllr Lesley Warner and Cllr Richard Murgatroyd.

There are currently 68 councillors elected to Kirklees Council (one seat is vacant). The new political composition of the council is:

Labour and Labour & Cooperative – 32

Conservative – 16

Liberal Democrat – 10

Green – 3

Independent Group – 3

Dewsbury Borough Independents – Heavy Woollen District – 1

Independents – 3

Vacancy – 1